What Does a Hardship License Cost

Search Our Site​

Get Help Now

From his Lunenburg office, attorney Matthew Gilman represents clients all over the state of Massachusetts. Fill out the form on this page or call the office today to connect with him and set up a free consultation. Matthew will discuss your case in the office or even in your own home and determine the best way forward for your unique situation.

Cost for a Hardship / Cinderella / Work License in Massachusetts

What Is a Hardship License

A hardship license is a time restricted license that allows operators to drive for a specific 12 hour period, 7 days a week. To apply for a hardship license you must first determine whether you are eligible to apply at the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles or whether you should just go to the Division of Insurance Board of Appeals.

In either situation you will be expected to present specific documentation that the license suspension has caused you to suffer hardship. The hardship can be shown to exist for employment purposes, educational, medical or general everyday survival.

If your license is suspended and you need a hardship license whether it is OUI/DUI or as an Immediate Threat, please review our license suspension page to see how we can help get you back on the road.

What is the Cost for a Hardship License

If you apply for and are granted a hardship license whether that is through the RMV or Division of Insurance Board of Appeals you will have to pay the fees associated with reinstating your license. That means the Registry will not allow you to obtain the hardship license until you pay the reinstatement fee for every outstanding and open license suspension. If you have multiple suspensions that have not been reinstated, the Registry will set a reinstatement fee for each of those suspensions.

Generally the costs per suspension range from $100.00 up to $1,200.00 per offense. It is important to remember that if you have multiple suspensions that need to be cleared you will owe a fee for each suspension ranging from that $100.00 to $1,200.00.

Why Gilman Law, P.C.

Attorney Matthew Gilman and his team know the ins and outs of Massachusetts License Suspension Law. Attorney Gilman conducted over 15,000 administrative license suspensions as a RMV Hearings Officer. Those experiences ensure that Gilman Law clients are put in the best positions to get the relief that they are looking for. Contact Gilman Law, P.C. today for a free case consultation.