How To Get Your License Suspended As A Junior Operator In Massachusetts

magine, you just turned sixteen, studied for a couple of weeks, and passed the Massachusetts Permit Test. Or, you are sixteen and a half, spent countless hours in drivers education and, finally passed the road examination and in a flash, your permit or license is suspended. In Massachusetts, if you are under 18 years old […]

Clients Charge Of Using A Motor Vehicle Without Authority Dismissed

I am excited to report that after just two court appearances a client with an extensive criminal record had the criminal offense of using a motor vehicle without authority dismissed. This case had extra significance because a conviction would have caused the client to loose his license for one year. Client was a rear seat […]

State Police And Registry Of Motor Vehicles Fraud Investigations Lead To Criminal Charges

According to an October 13, 2018 Boston Globe Article, over the past year the State Police and Registry of Motor Vehicles have brought criminal charges against at least five individuals who allegedly have taken part in scamming the Massachusetts drivers license permit test. At least five of the individuals have been arrested and charged with taking part […]

Penalties And Suspensions For Underage Drunk Driving Convictions

Being charged with driving under the influence is difficult enough, but to be under 21 years old and charged with this offense is even more challenging. In this blog, I provide answers to common questions young people and their parents have about these charges and discuss how you may be eligible to get a hardship license. License […]

Client Avoids Two Years Of Having An Ignition Interlock Device

I am thrilled to report that the Division of Insurance Board of Appeals voted 3-0 in favor of a client and against the Registry of Motor Vehicles. In this case the client who was never a Massachusetts Resident or Massachusetts License Holder was being told by the Registry that in order to pay a 2003 […]

Are Changes Coming To First Offense Operating Under The Influence Cases?

Currently in Massachusetts individuals who are convicted or plea to first offense operating under the influence (OUI) charges, suffer license suspensions between 45 and 90 days. Upon such a plea or conviction individuals are immediately eligible to apply for a hardship license. This suspension period runs on and after (consecutive) to any license suspension for refusing the Breathalyzer […]

New Process For Having An Ignition Interlock Device Installed

In Massachusetts if your license is suspended for two or more operating under the influence convictions, you will not be able to reinstate your license without first having an Ignition Interlock Device installed in a vehicle. In fact, any car that you own, lease or operate will be required to be fitted with an interlock […]