Much like any OUI charge our clients have just two options.
- Plea/admit to the charges
- Go to Trial and Fight the Case.
A fourth offense OUI charge and subsequent offenses have serious consequences.
A conviction carries a mandatory minimum jail sentence and at least a ten year license suspension. It are these consequences on our clients and their families that guide our representation.
Fourth Offense OUI Consequences
- Conviction will receive a jail sentence of not less than 2 years (1 year Minimum Mandatory)
- License Suspension for 10 years with no hardship eligibility for at least 5 years.
- Ignition Interlock Device for at least two years pursuant to G.L. c. 90, § 24 1/2
- Fines between $1,500.00 and $25,000.00
What Are the Lookback Periods
Beginning on November 30, 2002, the Massachusetts Legislature increased the “look back” period from ten years to a lifetime lookback. The “look back” period relates to how far back the Prosecutor and the Registry of Motor Vehicles will look back for any prior offenses.
If you have been charged with a Fourth Offense OUI, you need a team on your side that can win in the courtroom and get you back on the road.
Attorney Matthew Gilman and Attorney Julie Gaudreau represent clients charged with OUI/DUI and License Suspension Matters across Massachusetts including in Barnstable County, Bristol County, Essex County, Middlesex County, Norfolk County, Plymouth County, Suffolk County and Worcester County. If you are charged with a OUI/DUI contact Gilman Law, P.C. for a Free Case Evaluation
Get Help Now
From his Lunenburg office, attorney Matthew Gilman represents clients all over the state of Massachusetts. Fill out the form on this page or call the office today to connect with him and set up a free consultation. Matthew will discuss your case in the office or even in your own home and determine the best way forward for your unique situation.