7 Surchargeable Events 60-Day License Suspension

Search Our Site​

Get Help Now

From his Lunenburg office, attorney Matthew Gilman represents clients all over the state of Massachusetts. Fill out the form on this page or call the office today to connect with him and set up a free consultation. Matthew will discuss your case in the office or even in your own home and determine the best way forward for your unique situation.

In Massachusetts if a driver accumulates seven motor vehicle law violation convictions or “at-fault” accidents over three years, the Registry of Motor Vehicles will issue a 60 day license suspension. Pursuant to G.L. c. 175 §113B, the Registry will automatically issue the suspension notice upon receipt of seventh conviction or “at-fault” determination. It is important to note that you can receive multiple motor vehicle law violations from one single incident. If you receive a citation with multiple infractions, the Registry will count each infraction as an automobile law violation.

The Registry of Motor Vehicles takes the position that they cannot issue a hardship license during the suspension period. However, the Division of Insurance, Board of Appeal will consider granting hardship licenses during the 60-day suspension. The most common relief the Board will grant is a 12-hour hardship license. However, under certain circumstances the Board may grant full license reinstatement. 

Attorney Gilman has filed numerous 7 surchargeable event suspension appeals and has been successful in obtaining relief for his clients. If you received a notice from the Registry of Motor Vehicles that your license is going to be suspended for 60-days contact Attorney Gilman immediately. Attorney Gilman can work with the Board of Appeals to get you the earliest appeal date possible. Contact Attorney Gilman 24/7.