Do I Need An Ignition Interlock Device?

Sometimes, yes! In 2005 Melanies Law went into effect in Massachusetts. The purpose of this new law was to increase the penalities and sanctions for individuals convicted of Operating Under the Influnce. One of the most drastic changes was the requirement that some drivers have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed in any vehicle that they lease, own or […]

Breathalyzer Test Results Are Again Admissible

For the past two years Prosecutors across the Commonwealth have been unable to introduce the results of breath tests administered on the Alcotest 9510 machine. On November 5, 2018 pursuant to a settlement agreement, breath tests were deemed to be presumptively excluded from use in prosecutions from June, 2011 to a date to be determined […]

Penalties And Suspensions For Underage Drunk Driving Convictions

Being charged with driving under the influence is difficult enough, but to be under 21 years old and charged with this offense is even more challenging. In this blog, I provide answers to common questions young people and their parents have about these charges and discuss how you may be eligible to get a hardship license. License […]

Client Avoids Two Years Of Having An Ignition Interlock Device

I am thrilled to report that the Division of Insurance Board of Appeals voted 3-0 in favor of a client and against the Registry of Motor Vehicles. In this case the client who was never a Massachusetts Resident or Massachusetts License Holder was being told by the Registry that in order to pay a 2003 […]

Are Changes Coming To First Offense Operating Under The Influence Cases?

Currently in Massachusetts individuals who are convicted or plea to first offense operating under the influence (OUI) charges, suffer license suspensions between 45 and 90 days. Upon such a plea or conviction individuals are immediately eligible to apply for a hardship license. This suspension period runs on and after (consecutive) to any license suspension for refusing the Breathalyzer […]

Applying For An OUI / DUI Hardship License

Massachusetts lawmakers, police officers, and district attorneys all take drunk driving seriously and impose significant suspension. However, if your license is suspended for Operating under the influence (OUI) you may be eligible for a hardship license. In Massachusetts, the Registry of Motor Vehicles is authorized to grant hardship licenses to individuals who have no more […]

Applying For A Hardship License Following A First Offense Alcohol Or Drug Program

In the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, individuals charged with their first offense for operating under the influence can opt to be assigned to the Alcohol Education Program, known as the 24(D) program. In these cases, you will admit to sufficient facts and your case can be continued without a finding for one year. The court will […]

New Process For Having An Ignition Interlock Device Installed

In Massachusetts if your license is suspended for two or more operating under the influence convictions, you will not be able to reinstate your license without first having an Ignition Interlock Device installed in a vehicle. In fact, any car that you own, lease or operate will be required to be fitted with an interlock […]

Charged With My First OUI / DUI Offense

There may be no more complicated law in Massachusetts than the OUI / DUI laws. The law is long and often requires that you flip back and forth between sections in order to get a complete picture of what is at stake. When we speak about what is at stake, we are not just discussing […]