How To Get Your License Suspended As A Junior Operator In Massachusetts

Search Our Site​

Get Help Now

From his Lunenburg office, attorney Matthew Gilman represents clients all over the state of Massachusetts. Fill out the form on this page or call the office today to connect with him and set up a free consultation. Matthew will discuss your case in the office or even in your own home and determine the best way forward for your unique situation.

magine, you just turned sixteen, studied for a couple of weeks, and passed the Massachusetts Permit Test. Or, you are sixteen and a half, spent countless hours in drivers education and, finally passed the road examination and in a flash, your permit or license is suspended.

In Massachusetts, if you are under 18 years old it is critical you both know and follow the junior operator driving laws.

Junior operator license holders as well as their families often do not appreciate the harsh ramifications and license suspensions for minor traffic violations. Failure to comply with the junior operator conditions, no matter how minor of a violation, will result in your permit or license being suspended. In many cases not only is your license or permit suspended but you will be required to retake the permit and full road test before your driving privileges will be fully reinstated.

Suspendable Offenses

ViolationFirst OffenseSecond Offense
Passenger Restriction• 60-day suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• $100 reinstatement fee
• 180-day suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• $100 reinstatement fee
Time Restriction – Violation 12:30am – 5am• 60-day suspension
• $100 reinstatement fee
• 180-day suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• $100 reinstatement fee
Operating to Endanger/Recklessly or Negligent• 80-day suspension
• $500 reinstatement fee
• 1-year suspension
• Full license exam
• $500 reinstatement fee
Drag-Racing• 1-year suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• SCARR Course
• Full license exam
• 3-year suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• SCARR Course
• Full license exam
• $1000 reinstatement fee
Speeding• 90-day suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• SCARR Course
• Full license exam
• $500 reinstatement fee
• 1-year suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• SCARR Course
• Full license exam
• $500 reinstatement fee
Conviction for the use of a mobile electronic device (text or phone)• 60-day suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• Full license exam
• $100 reinstatement fee
•180-day suspension
• $100 reinstatement fee
Negligent operation and injury from mobile phone use•180-day suspension
• $500 reinstatement fee
• 1-year suspension
• Full license exam
• $500 reinstatement fee

Once a ticket is paid, any junior operator license will be suspended. It is important to note that junior operators are not eligible to get a hardship license from the Registry of Motor Vehicles. Any relief must be sought through the Division of Insurance Board of Appeals, where the Registry will most often be represented by an attorney.

If you are a junior operator or the parent of a junior operator, it is critical that you speak with an experienced license attorney before paying any ticket. I have had significant success appealing these citations in the District Court. No permit or license suspensions will go into effect as the citation is under appeal.