Meet With Our License Attorney If Your Junior Operator License Is In Jeopardy

Search Our Site​

Get Help Now

From his Lunenburg office, attorney Matthew Gilman represents clients all over the state of Massachusetts. Fill out the form on this page or call the office today to connect with him and set up a free consultation. Matthew will discuss your case in the office or even in your own home and determine the best way forward for your unique situation.

In Massachusetts, if you are under 18 years old it is critical that you follow the junior operator license regulations. If you fail to comply with these complex laws and regulations, no matter how minor of a violation, your license will be suspended. In many cases not only will your license be suspended, but you will have to retake the permit examination and road test before your license will be reinstated. On top of having your license suspended and having to retake the full examination, you will also owe reinstatement fees ranging from $100 to $1000 to the RMV. Below is a chart that identifies the junior operator offenses and any corresponding penalties.

If you are a junior operator or the parent of a junior operator, it is critical that you speak with an experienced license attorney before paying any ticket. Once a ticket is paid, the license will be suspended. It is important to note that junior operators cannot get a hardship license from the RMV, they must appeal to the Division of Insurance, Board of Appeals.

Violation1st Offense2nd Offense3rd Offense
Conviction for the use of a mobile electronic device (text or phone)• 60-day suspension
• $100 reinstatement fee
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• Full license exam
• 180-day suspension
• $100 reinstatement fee
• 1-year suspension
• $100 reinstatement fee
Drag-racing• 1-year suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• SCARR Course
• Full license exam
• 3-year suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• SCARR Course
• Full license exam
• $1000 reinstatement fee
• 3-year suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• SCARR Course
• Full license exam
• $1000 reinstatement fee
Negligent operation and injury from mobile phone use• 180-day suspension
• $500 reinstatement fee

• 180-day suspension
• $500 reinstatement fee
• Full license exam

• 1-year suspension 
• $500 reinstatement fee
• Full license exam
Operating to endanger/recklessly or negligent operating• 180-day suspension
• $500 reinstatement fee
• 1-year suspension
• Full license exam
• $500 reinstatement fee
• 1-year suspension
• Full license exam
• $500 reinstatement fee
Passenger restriction• 60-day suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• $100 reinstatement fee
• 180-day suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• $100 reinstatement fee
• 1-year suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• $100 reinstatement fee
• Full license exam
Speeding• 90-day suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• SCARR Course
• Full license exam
• $500 reinstatement fee
• 1-year suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• SCARR Course
• Full license exam
• $500 reinstatement fee
• 1-year suspension 
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• SCARR Course
• Full license exam
• $500 reinstatement exam
Time restriction violation 12:30 am – 5:00 am• 60-day suspension
• $100 reinstatement fee
• 180-day suspension
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• $100 reinstatement fee
• 1-year suspension 
• Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course
• $100 reinstatement fee
• Full license exam